GPT-5.5 Pro — Specs, Pricing & Limits
Specs
| Status | Priced |
|---|---|
| Context window | 1,050,000 tokens |
| Max output | 128,000 tokens |
| Knowledge cutoff | Dec 01, 2025 |
| Reasoning effort levels | medium, high (default), xhigh |
| Long-context rule | Not published |
| Cache writes | No additional charge — a written token bills as ordinary input |
Pricing per 1M tokens, every published service tier
| Standard — short context | in $30.00 · cached — · writes — · out $180.00 |
|---|---|
| Standard — long context | in $60.00 · cached — · writes — · out $270.00 |
| Batch — short context | in $15.00 · cached — · writes — · out $90.00 |
| Flex — short context | in $15.00 · cached — · writes — · out $90.00 |
| Fast mode | Not offered for this model |
Rate limits by usage tier
| Free | Not supported |
|---|---|
| Build | 500 RPM · 200,000 TPM · 1,000,000 batch queue |
| Launch | 1,000 RPM · 1,000,000 TPM · 20,000,000 batch queue |
| Grow | 2,000 RPM · 4,000,000 TPM · 1,500,000,000 batch queue |
GPT-5.5 Pro's price is the second thing worth noticing about it. The first is its entry-tier request ceiling, which sits an order of magnitude below what the standard models get at the same tier — a limit it now shares with GPT-5.4 Pro, whose rates OpenAI cut to match after August.
That ceiling is easy to miss when you compare models on price, since nothing about a high per-token rate signals a correspondingly tight request rate. For a workload that calls this model frequently rather than occasionally, the Build row is the number to read first: at the lower usage tiers it is the thing most likely to constrain a real deployment. OpenAI also warns that Pro requests can take several minutes and suggests background mode to avoid timeouts.
Its reasoning effort is narrower than any standard model's — medium, high and xhigh, with high as the default — and there is no Fast mode and no cached-input price. The long-context repricing rule is not stated on this model's own page; the pricing page does publish a long-context Standard band for it, but not the full-request wording, so this site doesn't model a cliff for it.
If what you want is Pro-style extra model work rather than this specific model, the GPT-5.6 and GPT-6 families offer reasoning.mode: "pro" on the Responses API, billed at the selected model's own standard rates — more tokens, not a higher rate.
The table above is computed directly from this site's facts module: pricing across every published service tier and the rate-limit table.
Verified 2026-10-28 against https://developers.openai.com/api/docs/models/gpt-5.5-pro.
Could not confirm: The >272K repricing rule is not stated on this model's own page. The pricing page does publish a long-context Standard band for it, but not the full-request semantics, so the calculators here do not model a cliff for GPT-5.5 Pro.
Checked: https://developers.openai.com/api/docs/models/gpt-5.5-pro · https://developers.openai.com/api/docs/pricing